Is Beer Kosher for Passover?

30 Mar

Can I drink beer during Passover?  I never really wondered about it before, but when I was on my way back to school, my brother pointed out that I probably couldn’t.  Screw that!  I thought he was probably right, but I answered thusly: how the hell do you think the Jews survived 40 years in the dessert without beer?  Ha!  Yeah, I don’t think I’ll be cutting beer this week, not only because I like it and don’t want to, but mostly because I bet the Jews of yore didn’t!

Think about it: beer has been around since Mesopotamia flourished!  I’m pretty sure it was a staple, since water was often seen as sketchy and contaminated.  It was readily available, and it’s not like the Jews had to up and brew a new batch before their Exodus from Egypt.  All they had to do was hit the kegs with their goatskin pouches before traversing the parted Red Sea!  I mean, yeah, they probably had wine.  And no, they probably didn’t have coolers and fancy stuff like that, but so what?

Forty years in the dessert with no beer?  I think not.  What were the Israelites doing while they were waiting for Moses to come back down with the commandments, besides reveling in sin and worshipping idles?  Probably popping open a few Buds.  Or whatever draft beer they had at the time.  Who knows?

All I’m saying is, beer ain’t leavened bread, no matter how you slice it.  It’s readily available, people can take it on the go, and it was cleaner than water.  Therefore, beer is not going on my list of passover no-no’s along with bread and many other disputable things, like rice, oats, corn, and stuff like that.  My Gramps used to say, “if the Israelites could pick it on the go, it’s kosher for passover.”  So corn seems OK, and in my eyes, so is BEER.

2 Responses to “Is Beer Kosher for Passover?”

  1. Ron April 4, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    just want to show you a scripture and you can make up you own mind, particulary verse 20. (KJ Version) EX 12: 17 -20 – 17And ye shall observe the feast of unleavened bread; for in this selfsame day have I brought your armies out of the land of Egypt: therefore shall ye observe this day in your generations by an ordinance forever. 18In the first month, on the fourteenth day of the month at even, ye shall eat unleavened bread, until the one and twentieth day of the month at even. 19Seven days shall there be no leaven found in your houses: for whosoever eateth that which is leavened, even that soul shall be cut off from the congregation of Israel, whether he be a stranger, or born in the land. 20Ye shall eat nothing leavened {emphasis is mine}; in all your habitations shall ye eat unleavened bread. Beer has yeast, so its leavened in the broadest sense of the word. Eat generally, in a biblical context, means to consume. Choice is yours.

    • getinmebelly April 4, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

      this is interesting–nothing really surprising, since i have been brought up jewish and know all about the rules of passover and regulations that go with the holiday–but I find beer only ferments from the addition of yeast. thus, i think the yeast does result in ethyl alcohol and carbon dioxide, but i wouldn’t consider it “rising” because it has some bubbles in it. i don’t disagree with those who choose to abstain from beer, but personally, i find it a justifiable product to be consumed during passover.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 801 other followers

