Harvest Fest

31 Dec

foie gras and pork meatball sliders with tart cherry preserves on mini briochefoie gras and pork meatball sliders with tart cherry preserves on mini briocheIn October, I hosted a fund raiser for hunger in America.  I invited about forty guests, and I prepared twenty tasting portion dishes.  I encouraged each guest to bring a minimum of thirty dollars for the cause, and I ended up raising $1755.00.  It was a great cause as well as an excellent time had by all.

If anything gets people into the spirit of helping out the global community, it’s food.  People love getting together to socialize and enjoy good food and wine, especially when they feel like they’ve done something good.  I strongly encourage anyone reading this post to host their own fund raiser and give back to the world.

In order to generate some creative juices in your minds, here are some pictures of the food at my charity dinner:

foie gras and pork meatball sliders with tart cherry preserves on mini brioche 100_2307.jpg

mini potato skins 100_2323.jpg

corn chowder in mini bread bowls butternut squash soup martinis cheddar and chive pierogies lamb sliders with mint pesto on biscuits

black forest cake squares sticky gingerbread cakeapple tartlets with white chocolate frangelico sauce

brandy alexander trufflespumpkin profiteroles with maple glazeviennese gerbeaud slices

I also made tea sanwiches, asian roasted chicken legs, caramel lady apples with cayenne pepper, homemade beef jerky, and I had a cheese tray with some pate.  Lastly, I thought that my pumpkin cake would be a good centerpiece for the party, since it was in the fall.

pumpkin cake

One Response to “Harvest Fest”

  1. Meredith Loew January 5, 2008 at 2:33 pm #

    All the food you make looks so good! I bet it tastes even better. Someday your going to be a famous cook!!!

    ~Meredith

Leave a Reply

