I am the egg man (And the steak man too)

5 Jan

Because I have been so busy for the past couple of months with my job, school, and holidays, I have not really had both feet in one of my favorite realms: family dinners.  I always like to test out new recipes on my family, and they enjoy taking these culinary adventures.  Too, I enjoy the convergence of our busy lives over a classic home-cooked meal.  After the holidays, I was faced with the joyous truth that my Christmas goose bequeathed me with its pure, glorious lipids. 

Aware that this ethereal fat would be the perfect vehicle for cooking potatoes, I launched into a French classics fantasy.  I would make a duo: goose fat roasted potatoes as well as goose fat French fries. 

The health-conscious would agree that calling the fries a meal in themselves would be wise.  However, I had already begun to create a monster, and dissuading myself from inviting a militia of calories to the party that we call thigh fat was no longer an option.  I already had filet mignon on the brain, and a decadent creamed spinach recipe beckoned me from the depths of my mind.  Upon discovering a head of cauliflower in my fridge, I knew that that had to play a role in the meal too, and now the side of French fries and roasted potatoes seemed like a diet plan in comparison to the grand scheme of things.  Oh, and I had just purchased a bottle of white truffle oil from the store.  Hmm.

In the end of my crazy acid trip of a Friday-night-dinner-cooking extravaganza, My family received A plate with: roasted goose-fat potatoes; goose fat French fries (which were supposed to be lovingly swathed in some thick aioli, which never really made its way into the world); A rich mound of boursin cheese creamed spinach; a velvety-smooth bed of the best roasted caulifower puree I have ever made, over which a hard-seared medium-rare filet showed of its crisp, brown exterior; and last, but certainly not least, a soft poached egg wearing the couture perfume of the food world: white truffle oil.  To finish of the night, I served mini angel food cakes soaked in a vanilla-chestnut syrup, which was left over from making marron glacee. 

This was one of the most satisfying meals I have had in a while; I am not only the egg man, but the steak man too.

Caulifower Puree: 

  • 1 head of cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 1 small onion (yellow), small dice
  • 3 T olive oil
  • 1/3-1/2 c milk
  • salt and pepper
  • hazelnut oil

Heat up a medium sized pan over medium heat.  Add about 2 T of the oil and the onions, and stir to lightly brown and soften the onions.  When the onions are soft and caramel colored, add the cauliflower florets and reduce the heat to low.  Stir the contents of the pan every few minutes to avoid burning, and add the extra tablespoon of oil.  After about five minutes of roasting as such, add enough water to the pan to come about half way up the caulifower.  Cover the pan and simmer until the cauliflower is tender.  When the cauliflower is easily pierced with a fork, remove the lid from the pan and allow all of the water to evaporate, stirring occasionally.  Transfer the mixture to a blender and add milk, salt, and pepper.  Blend until completely smooth.  To finish, add abot two tablespoons of hazelnut oil, or enough that you can taste a subtle nuttiness that is less obvious and more of a j’nai se quois.  Serve with a good steak and enjoy!

One Response to “I am the egg man (And the steak man too)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Diet Recipes » I am the egg man (And the steak man too) - January 5, 2008

    […] Here’s another interesting post I read today by getinmebelly […]

Leave a Reply

