Munching Al Fresco with the Fam, Catered by Yours Truly

29 Jun

This past weekend, at my sister’s and my graduation party, we enjoyed the (finally!) nice weather along with some great food.  For me, there’s nothing better than eating fresh-looking and delicious food in one’s own backyard on a nice day.  Giving in to my pleas,  my parents agreed to let me cater the party as opposed to the caterer who they had originally planned to hire. 

The menu I came up with was the following assortment of my own whims and some of my sister’s favorites:

Salad of Mesclun with Avocado, Chilies, and Mint

salad

Summer Fruit Salad: Peaches, Raspberries, Blackberries, and Strawberries

fruit

Gazpacho Shots

gazpacho

Salmon Tartare Sushi Rolls with Brown Butter Aioli Dipping Sauce

sushi

Miniature Egg “McMuffins” with Parma Cotto Ham and Hoch Ybrig Cheese

eggmcmuffin

Tuna Escabeche Wraps with Tomato and Kalamata Olive Aioli

Turkey, Pear, and Brie “Croissandwiches”

turkey and brie

Meatball Sliders with Pine Nut Butter and Tomato Sauce “Preserves”

meatball

Braised Barbeque Pork Ribs

ribs

Pumpkin Cheesecake Blondies with Graham Cracker Struessel

“Blackies” (Really Super Dark Brownies)

Rice Pudding Panna Cotta Bites

White Chocolate-Lemon Verbena Ice Cream

Everything turned out great, and we couldn’t have asked for a nicer day to spend with the family.  The food was a hit, and I can’t say any of it let me down. 

 

Leave a Reply

