Portuguese Octopus Stew: My Dreams Were Not Lofty

9 Jul

Ever since watching the Anthony Bourdain No Reservations episode in the Azores in Portugal, I have yearned for the rich looking octopus stew that he enjoyed there.  However, since I do not often see octopus in the run-of-the-mill grocery stores near me, I have not had much of a shot at making it.  Since Fairway opened in Paramus, though, I have had access to whole octopus, allowing me to toil with this odd cephalopod. 

if you can't wrap your brain around it, let it wrap around your brain!

if you can't wrap your brain around it, let it wrap around your brain!

Today I made the octopus stew, and although I did not have chick peas or chorizo, I improvized and got a phenomenal result.  I didn’t try to replace the chickpeas, but I did use chopped salami and some smoked paprika in place of the chorizo. 

Atop some thick slices of baguette, this stew was as delicious as I imagined it would be.  Making it was also entertaining.  I found it amusing to watch the tentacles curl up upon contact with the boiling water.  Luckily, I am able to access octopus whenever I want now, and I will be making this stew again in the near future. 

don't you crave it now?

don't you crave it now?

3 Responses to “Portuguese Octopus Stew: My Dreams Were Not Lofty”

  1. Marc August 22, 2009 at 4:28 pm #

    Hi–looks good–do you have the recipe or a site to go to?

    Thanks
    Marc

    • getinmebelly August 22, 2009 at 7:19 pm #

      hi marc
      i loosely followed emeril’s recipe on foodnetwork.com. hope you can find it and enjoy such a fab meal!!

      • Marc August 26, 2009 at 3:45 am #

        Thanks–I watched the bourdain episode again and went for bare bones:onions,garlic,tomatoes,octopus(goes without saying),chorizo,mushrooms and a lot of pepper(red and black),some cumin and red wine.
        Outrageous! The stock was so rich and delicious. Thanks

Leave a Reply

