I’ve Created A Monster: Toiling with Vegan Food–The Tofrownie!

20 Jul

Vegan : The Culinary World :: Lord Voldemort : The Wizarding World.

Ah, analogies–the easiest ways to understand parallel relationships.  The above analogy is one that I both created and devoutly believe.  As Lord Voldemort is a threat to and a taboo in the wizarding world, so are vegans in the culinary world.  Not only does the vegan strike terror among many a chef, but he denies himself of gustatory pleasures and animals the right of providing him with nourishment.  It is one thing, in my own opinion, to dislike the idea of eating a living thing.  However, when one will not consume the milk given by an alive and well animal; the honey from a content bee–then to what has he or she come? 

Needless to say, out of mere principle, I have avoided zealously the limiting cookery of the vegans.  Until yesterday. 

As I am constantly testing new ideas in my kitchen, I often try new challenges.  Yesterday, I decided to test myself by making a vegan food that tastes good and would relieve the often blighted palates of said eating group.  After all, I have vegan friends (very good people; their characteristics are so redeeming that I reserve my opinions about their eating habits), who enjoy good food and deserve a good recipe. 

Inspired by the application of tofu in desserts such as tofutti and pudding, I set out to use it in another sweet treat.  The result?  THE TOFROWNIE!

Yes, the tofrownie–a brownie that gets its quasi mousse/pudding/fudge consistency from silken tofu.  As tempting as it was, I did not use any ingredients forbidden from vegan cuisine. 

The results, according to my panel of taste-testers (my family–only the best), were very good.  My mom did not notice any soy flavor, and she was surprised that it was a vegan brownie.  She also found the tang added by the pureed prunes an added bonus.  My dad noted that lovers of a moist and fudgy brownie would like it, but those who favor a drier brownie may not.

Here’s the recipe–enjoy it, whether you are vegan or not!  The prunes do not give off a weird taste–they only add depth and some tangy as well as texture.

100_4956

Tofrownies:

8.5 oz. silken tofu

2 T cocoa powder

1 c granulated sugar

3 oz. pitted prunes

4 oz bittersweet chocolate + 2 oz. unsweetened chocolate, melted together in the microwave

1 t salt

1 t vanilla

1/2 c vegetable oil

1/4 c flour

Preheat oven to 325º F.

Line an 8×8” pan with aluminum foil or waxed paper and grease.

In a food processer, puree the tofu with the cocoa powder and sugar until smooth.  Add in the prunes and process until smooth with only small specks of prune visible.  Add the melted chocolates and process until smooth and thick.  Add in the vanilla and salt, and then stream in the vegetable oil, continuing to process.  Finally, add the flour and pulse until incorporated.

With a rubber spatula, scrape the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top to even it out.  Bake 45-50 min or until a tester comes out clean.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

