My Own Greenmarket Mixology

27 Jul

I’ve been very interested in the large attention that has been paid to mixology over the past few years, especially since it has raised the quality of drinks served in restaurants and bars.  This summer, I’ve been glad to hear on many occasions of mixologists who are using farm-fresh ingredients in their drinks to highlight herbs and produce.

The other day, when I was puzzling over what to do with some leftover cooked corn and some shredded beets, I decided to use them as flavorings for simple syrups.  Following the simple method of disolving sugar in water at a 1:1 ratio and allowing the flavoring to steep in the syrup for a while before straining, I produced two beautiful simple syrups: 1 corn and 1 beet.  I first thought that using the corn simple syrup in a drink using a liquor made from corn would make sense.  However, I longed to maintain the summery, fresh flavors of the syrups.  I decided to use vodka, which would let the flavors of the corn and beets shine. 

What I came up with was a simple yet seasonal and elegant cocktail.  I found it refreshing and thought it went well with the summer-y cookout food I made that night.  Here’s the recipe–enjoy!

The Song of the Reaper:

2 oz. vodka (I used Absolut)

1 T beet simple syrup (recipe follows)

The Song of the Reaper

The Song of the Reaper

1.5 t corn simple syrup (recipe follows.  ATTN: DO NOT SUBSTITUTE CORN SYRUP)

1 t water

In a shaker with ice, combine the ingredients, shaking intensely.  Strain into a cocktail glass with ice and sip as you watch the summer sun fading on the horizon.  Or just drink it.  But appreciate the flavors.

BEET SIMPLE SYRUP:

2/3 c shredded beets

1/2 c sugar

1/2 c water

combine ingredients in a small saucepan over low heat.  Bring to a simmer to dissolve the sugar and then let sit for ten minutes before straining into a bowl and cooling in the refrigerator.

CORN SIMPLE SYRUP

corn kernels from 1.5 ears of par-boiled corn

1/2 c sugar

1/2 c water

follow method for beet simple syrup, above.

Leave a Reply

