The Last Supper

22 Aug

Before leaving my house for college, I wanted to cook a wonderful meal in honor of the “last” time I would be able to cook in my beautiful kitchen for my family.  I struggled in coming up with the dishes that I would cook that night, but I wanted it, in essence, to be a feast of ultimate deliciousness.  

For the first course, I served bone marrow with parsley salad, as made famous by Gabrielle Hamilton of Prune.  I made fresh homemade bread, sliced it, and toasted it.  The parsley salad had shallots, capers, lemon juice, and olive oil.  I encouraged my family to spread the bone marrow on the toast, top with sel gris, and then the salad.  It was divine.  

In addition to the bone marrow, I put out some pomme frites, which I gluttonously served with hand-whipped butter.  We found that fries dipped in bone marrow is also delectable.

For the main event, I served hand-made papardelle with chanterelle and hen-of-the-woods mushrooms, Pecorino Gineppro, and olive oil.  It was hearty and amazing.  The sides included my own cured sardines, soppresata with pickled onions, and a fennel and orange salad with pecorino and pomegranate.  This was all enjoyed with a nice bottle of Barolo, which was deep enough to pair well with the mushrooms and sausage but dry enough not to overpower the salad and in a way that complemented the oily sardines.

Before dessert, I served a “Palate dirtier” in lieu of a palate cleanser– wedges of Jasper Hills Bayley Hazen Blue cheese with a Pedro Ximenez sherry reduction.  What an interlude that was…

Last of all, I made a balsamic zabaglione with strawberries and blackberries–a recipe my mom once made that enchanted me.  

I will miss cooking at home, but I think that I ended my home cooking career with somewhat of a bang.  At least I tried…

 

My family enjoying their last (for a while at least) meal cooked by me

My family enjoying their last (for a while at least) meal cooked by me

 

Mom teaching my brother how to extract the roasted bone marrow...

Mom teaching my brother how to extract the roasted bone marrow...

 

Dad enjoying his meal...

Dad enjoying his meal...

 

pasta, salad, sardines, bone marrow

pasta, salad, sardines, bone marrow

cheese--"Palate Dirtier"

cheese--"Palate Dirtier"

Leave a Reply

