Insomnia: I wake at 2, cook.

14 Jan

This morning, I woke up at 2, and I could not fall back to sleep for the life of me.  I tried to read, I tried to surf the web–two things that usually put me back to bed when I need sleep–but I found no success.  So I got up and started cooking.

The first thing I did was make pickles; after I made some last week, my mom was so excited about them that she came home from the store with more kirby cucumbers and asked if I’d make more.  Of course I would–and so that was the first thing I made.  While I made pickles with jalapenos last week, I decided to try something new and added star anise and black cardamom pods to the pickling mixture.  So, I used 1/2 c sugar, 1 T salt, 1/2 c rice vinegar, and a cup of water along with the spices.

After the pickles, I raided my pantry for ideas.  Since we have had wild rice and other grains for so long without using them, I thought it would be resourceful to make them into a porridge: something warm and comforting for a cold winter morning.  Even though the whole grain wheat should be soaked overnight, I boiled it until tender to successful ends.  In the porridge, I have a wild rice blend, whole grain wheat, bulgur, and rolled oats.  I added milk, some maple syrup, and some honey, but I didn’t add that much of the last two–I wanted it to taste fortifying but not overly sweet and cloying.  Its devourers can add what they please: more sweetener, bacon, bananas, dried fruit, fresh fruit, nuts, or whatever.

Even though I really wanted to make bread, I have to go to work at 10, and I would rather give bread dough the time and attention it needs.  So, I sit here, cappuccino in hand, wondering what to eat for breakfast.  I’ve had some porridge, Kee’s chocolate truffles, a piece of a coconut cupcake, some cereal out of the box, and some apple and quince tarte tatin–all things I made or acquired (the truffles) over the past week.  Maybe I’m not hungry anymore…But maybe I am.  Hmmm.  Maybe some yogurt, cottage cheese, or ice cream.  My breakfasts are usually a mishmosh.

Leave a Reply

