What am I craving, damn it?!

1 Apr

You know, it’s getting nice in Ithaca again, and I am feelin’ the spring food scene big time right about now.  I am sick of eating the same stuff all the time, especially now (during Passover: matzoh, lettuce, matzoh, kugel, matzoh again), and I really want something fresh and interesting.  Maybe I am having a life crisis: I want new food, I got a new haircut, I bought a cat…OK, I didn’t buy a cat, but you see what I mean?  I am fixated on new.

But hey!  That’s what Spring is all about!  New life, newly grown food, new car (Dad, hint hint!)  OK, no new car.  But new life and new food!  I want my fucking morels now!  And some spring onions, fresh goat cheese, asparagus, STRAWBERRIES (which I haven’t eaten all winter in anticipation for Spring).  I don’t know exactly what I’m craving right this moment, and that feeling makes me anxious, but if I did know, I would probably be just as upset, since I probably wouldn’t be able to locate it on campus.  Maybe right now I could go for flatbread with anchovies and red onion, Pernod on ice, and some striped bass with orange and saffron like I once made over the summer…I think the sun is getting to me.  It’s not summer yet, but all these light, summery foods are really appealing right now.

3 Responses to “What am I craving, damn it?!”

  1. chefbrian1 April 1, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    Hi Shaina,

    I have link a post to my chocolate matzoh recipe. I know it will mean yet more matzoh, but it can be a fun twist on Matzoh Time

    Chef Brian

    http://lastoneeating.wordpress.com/2010/03/27/chocolate-matzoh-matzo/

    • getinmebelly April 2, 2010 at 12:03 am #

      quite honestly, don’t you think matzoh-toffee chocolate bark would be fantastic? i might prefer it to normal chocolate-covered matzoh. thoughts?

  2. chefbrian1 April 2, 2010 at 2:42 am #

    Shaina

    I am purist with only chocolate with toasted nuts, but once you have the chocolate warm and melted, you can put pretty much anything (kosher) you want like Reeses Pieces, or Heath Bar

    Kosher Candy list

    http://www.candyfavorites.com/shop/catalog-kosher.php

    CB

Leave a Reply

