Cooking with Heart: Literally and Figuratively

26 Apr

The other night, I cooked dinner for seven friends.  It was a nice Spring meal, all homemade with some nice ingredients from the local Ithaca Farmer’s Market.  Among the market-fresh ingredients were garlic scallions and heart.  Heart, you ask?  Yes.  Heart.  Cow heart, to be specific.

Now you are confused.  How could a college student, cooking for college friends, in a dorm–friends who are not definitive foodies, per se–to eat heart?  Well, I made a low blow: I didn’t tell them they were eating heart. What was on the menu, anyway?

Homemade ricotta and roasted tomatoes on pimentón crostini

“Summer Pot Roast”: Seared heart, sauteed garlic scallions, lavender carrots, and potato salad

Almond cake with pears in caramel

It all sounds pretty good, right?  If not, doesn’t it look good?

Everyone loved the heart, thinking it was beef…

What made it “Spring Pot Roast?”  Since a pot roast includes beef, onions, tomatoes, carrots, and often is served with potatoes, I included preparations of each constituent vegetable in my “Spring Pot Roast.”  I made a potato salad with an herb-buttermilk dressing; cold blanched carrots with lavender; sauteed garlic scallions; and roasted tomatoes (which added the depth everyone loves in pot roast).

As you can see in Exhibit A, bellow, everyone loved the heart…chowing down so innocently without the slightest knowledge of what, in fact, they were eating…

People enjoying heart!

Yum yum.

I debated telling them afterwards.  I did.  But finally, I decided to tell…and the two friends I told were fine!  They didn’t mind because they liked it!!  Woohoo!

2 Responses to “Cooking with Heart: Literally and Figuratively”

  1. d5 April 27, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    “So…how do you guys feel about heart?
    Because that was what you ate tonight…”

    not beef. lol.

    • getinmebelly April 27, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

      Yes, that is what I said. And as inebriated as I was at the time of admission, what I said was in earnest. You ate heart.

Leave a Reply

