Blondies Aren’t Dumb. They’re Tasty.

27 Apr

When I accumulate too much junk food, rather than eating it, giving it away, or throwing it out, I throw all of it into a batch of blondies.  If you don’t know what a blondie is (I was surprised to find that many of my friends didn’t), it is basically a brownie’s un-chocolatey counterpart.  It is essentially a bar cookie very similar to a basic chocolate chip cookie, only it is chewier and, for me, a great canvas for many different flavors.

My little sister recently voiced that she and her friend missed my blondies and cakes.  So, what the hell, I thought–I will send some home.

What did I put in?  Ahh, but to tell you would be to evoke fear of heart attacks, high cholesterol, cellulite, and maybe diabetes.  OK, fine.  See for yourself:

add-ins for blondies. clockwise from bottom left: butterscotch chips, chocolate chips, cinnamon toast crunch, cheerios, cinnabon bar, brown sugar pop tart, and hot fudge sundae pop tart. : )

I was quite excited, as I mixed up my batter, at the thought of mixing all this fatty crap into my lovely bar cookies.

Blondie Batter:

3/4 c granulated sugar

3/4 c brown sugar

1 c butter

3 eggs

~1 3/4 c flour

1 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

1 t cinnamon

Cream the butter and sugars; add the eggs, then the dry ingredients.  Mix in your choice of unhealthy crap into the batter.  Mix of junk food should make up about 1/3 to 1/2 of the final volume of blondie batter.

Bake at 350 F for 30 minutes and cool before cutting.

If you are kind, vacuum seal the blondies, and then send them home.

ta da!

Blondie points with the fam!!  Hooray!

3 Responses to “Blondies Aren’t Dumb. They’re Tasty.”

  1. holly April 27, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    Shai, you are funny! I love your blog. xxx

    • getinmebelly April 27, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

      Thank you kindly : )

  2. Laura April 27, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    ditto what she said! : )

Leave a Reply

