If There’s Tongue Involved, you Know it’s Serious.

27 Apr

Ew.  You are gross for thinking that.  This is not a make out blog; what I am referring to are the 5 lamb tongues and 1 beef tongue that are currently sitting in my fridge, waiting to be cooked.  What will I do with them?  I’ve eaten lamb’s tongue before at Mario Bitali’s Babbo.  It was delicious.  But I’ve never cooked with tongue before.  This is serious.

6 tongues?  I’ve never had to think about dealing with more than one tongue, maybe two tops in very strange situations…  All jokes aside, though, I don’t know how to deal with them.  I know people braise tongues, and I’m thinking that’s a good bet.  Still, I’m curious about maybe sous-vide cooking them.

The lamb’s tongues are small: each is about 2-3 ounces, while the beef tongue weighs about 2 pounds.  Maybe sous-vide would be best for the lamb’s tongues, but since the beef tongue is so big, I feel like braising it would make it more tender and flavorful.  I really don’t know.  I guess we’ll just see how it goes.  Keep posted for updates!

2 Responses to “If There’s Tongue Involved, you Know it’s Serious.”

  1. holly April 27, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    could ya cook it and serve it like pastrami? slied real thin? just sayin’…

  2. Chasen C. April 28, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    Sous Vide tongue in an Asianesque soup? Make a nice broth and serve with noodles and the sliced tongue. ^_^

Leave a Reply

