Let Them Eat Tongue!

29 Apr

What if I told you this nice looking group of young students was enjoying a nice meal of tongue?  Well, you would have to believe me, because, in fact, they are.

This week, I made my dinner centered around tongue.  Like I said in my previous post, I had never before cooked with tongue.  It was an adventure.  I didn’t quite have success with the whole blanch-and-peel process, so I ended up skinning the tongues with a knife instead.  Everything went OK once the tastebuds were off…

In their original forms, the tongues looked creepy.  A kid I didn’t know was innocently studying in our floor’s lounge, when, to his horror, I pulled a very phallic looking beef tongue out of a pot of boiling water.  Judging by the fact that he left the lounge within minutes, I’m sure he was glad that he had never taken the time to meet me this year, even if we do live on the same floor.  I couldn’t blame him.  See for yourself!

lamb tongues in a bowl of water

beef tongue in a bowl of water

Fetus or phallic?  You decide…

Anyway, I proceded to clean the tongues and ended up with these meaty cuts:

prepped tongues...

Not so bad, eh?  I seasoned them with salt, cumin, and cinnamon before sealing them for tubby-time in the sous vide machine…

cryovacked tongues!

After spending about three and a half hours in the Sous Vide Supreme, the lamb tongues were really tender, although parts of the cow tongue were a bit tough still.  A temperature higher than 145 F could have been beneficial, but more time could have also helped.  Anyway, here is how the dinner played out:

Soft-Scrambled Truffled Duck Eggs with Lardons and Croutons

Morrocan-spiced Lamb and Beef Tongue with Greek Yogurt, Tahini, and Eggplant

Vanilla-Bean Rice Pudding with Avocado Puree and Roasted Strawberries

The eggs were great, especially because I toasted the croutons in all the fat I rendered out of the lardons.  Don’t worry about it.  You didn’t eat it.  The people who did are not in the hospital suffering cardiac arrest.  They are fine.  It was delicious…A great saga is perhaps the one of my journey to buy bowls for the scrambled eggs.  I didn’t like the Solo brand bowls in our convenient store, so I bought 7 of those mini pretzel and hummus snacks and dumped out all the pretzels so I could use the plastic cup.  Crazy?  No…

soft truffled duck eggs with lardons and croutons

i needed them...

As for the tongue, I sliced it pretty thin and served it warm with parsley and lemon greek yogurt, tahini, roasted eggplant, and microgreens from the farmer’s market.

tongue, eggplant, yogurt, tahini, and microgreen

Finally, the rice pudding was a delicious background for one of my favorite combinations: avocado and strawberry!  The roasted strawberries get really jammy in the oven, and the avocado is a nice, earthy/fruity contrast.  Yum…

rice pudding with avocado puree and roasted strawberries

One Response to “Let Them Eat Tongue!”

  1. Laura April 29, 2010 at 1:40 am #

    Wow! That looks delicious! Very impressive let alone the fact that it was made in a dorm kitchen!

Leave a Reply

