Not your Average Crepe

4 Jun

My younger sister was very into eating crepes when she got home from her trip to France last year.  She never cooks, but she sure learned how to make crepes!  Since I sometimes like to make breakfast for my siblings before they go to school, I wanted to do something more than make pancakes for once.  So I made crepes, thinking that at least my sister would be excited.  I figured I would have a 50/50 chance of getting my brother to eat them; he is a moody breakfaster and often refuses to eat things we offer him for no reason.

So I made a classic crepe batter from Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking, using rum as my liquor of choice.  When I put the batter in the fridge to rest, I thought about what I would fill the crepe with.  I decided to try cooking strawberries sous vide, a method I have never tried on strawberries.

cryovacked strawberries

After thickly slicing five strawberries, I drizzled them with amber clover honey and sprinkled them with vanilla.  Then, I cryovacked them and popped them in the Sous Vide Supreme at 125 degrees F.  They came out fragrant, jammy, and delicious.

As for a sauce, I wanted to do something like a creme anglaise or custard.  Because I seem to be obsessed with pairing corn and herbal flavors, I decided to make a corn and lavender custard.  The idea may seem random, but the result was divine.

Unfortunately, my bitchy little brother had a bad breakfast mood, and he refused crepes, cereal, toast, and about anything else my mom could offer.  He ate a rice pudding.

My fortune was further compromised when my sister came down for breakfast: I was not in the kitchen, and she ate a crepe with just the strawberries.  I was too late with the corn custard sauce by the time I got back to the kitchen.  She wouldn’t even try it.  What can I say?  Is there anyone out there who would like to sub in for my siblings and try some experimtental but often delicious food?

Crepe Recipe:

Batter:

Blend together:

3/4 c milk

3/4 c water

3 egg yolks

1 T sugar

3 T liquor (such as rum or brandy)

1 c flour

5 T melted butter

Refrigerate, covered, for at least an hour (sorry, Julia, I was in a rush!–she says 2 hours)

Filling:

Slice 5 strawberries 1/3 inch thick and drizzle with 2 T honey and 1/4 t vanilla.

Cryovack and cook sous vide at 125 degrees F.

Lavender-Corn Custard Sauce:

bring 1 c milk to a boil in a saucepan with 3 sprigs of fresh lavender.  Add 1/2 c yellow corn meal and whisk smooth.  Whisk in 1/2 c sugar and another 1/4 c milk.  Strain and keep warm.

Make crepes in a large skillet or crepe pan and fill with corn sauce and strawberries.  Enjoy!

makin' crepes with my sous chef dog

the final product!

One Response to “Not your Average Crepe”

  1. holly June 4, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    I’ll bet you could “convince” your Uncle Michael and me…

Leave a Reply

