Alright, LaLoo’s, What’s Going On?

8 Jun

About a year ago, I bought Laloo’s ice cream for the first time.  The container said that Laloo’s ice cream was made with goat’s milk, and as a lover of all things goat (cheese, milk, meat…), I was intrigued.  The first Laloo’s ice cream I tried was a molasses-spice flavor with bits of spice cake or cookie in it.  I thought it was phenomenal, not only because the combinations of rich, spicy flavors were magical, but because the faint twang of goatiness was unique and sexy.

I didn’t see Laloo’s in stores often, and I didn’t buy it again after that because it didn’t get eaten very quickly in our house.  Not that it was sub-par–on the contrary, it was one of the better ice creams I’ve ever had.  I only ever saw Laloo’s in Whole Foods, but since we didn’t shop there so often, Laloo’s kind of got away from me.  Until the other day.

I was sitting on my couch, watching the new Cooking Channel, when a show came on that featured the inventor of Laloo’s.  She started manufacturing her product on her goat farm, according to the show.  The goats roaming around the farm were adorable, and I thought the operation looked as fresh and sustainable as an ice cream company could.

yummy goat milk!

As host Aida Mollenkamp followed proprietor Laura Howard through the farm, and ultimately to her “test kitchen,” I learned more about Laloo’s Ice Cream, from its health benefits (no lactose, lower fat, etc.) to its various flavors.

In the test kitchen, Howard showed Aida what goes into her famous “Strawberry Darling Ice Cream”–a classic ice cream base made with goat’s milk and egg yolks, in addition to fresh strawberries and lots of balsamic reduction.  Yum! I thought to myself, as I watched them enjoy bowls of the pinkish, luscious ice cream.  Who doesn’t like strawberries with balsamic?

When I saw Strawberry Darling at Fairway the other day, I was psyched.  I could have my ice cream, and according to the nutrition facts, I could eat it, too (each serving is only 130 calories; 5 g of fat!).  When I got home, though, I found a depressing reality waiting for me in the small pint on my counter: my Strawberry Darling did not seem to have any balsamic swirl.

Had the flavor been changed based on consumer preference?  No–the container still advertised a balsamic swirl.  Had I not dug deep enough?  Even though Howard claimed, on the show, to put enough reduction in each container so that the customer had some in every bite, it might have sunk to the bottom, right?  So I investigated, cutting the container open to reveal a cross-section:

Cross section of Laloo's Strawberry Darling

Do you see any balsamic?  Didn’t think so.  I will buy another.  I am curious to find out whether my pint was merely a fluke in the grand scheme of things.  But what are the odds?  Just a disclaimer: Laloo’s Ice Cream is friggin’ delicious, so please buy it.  Even you won’t be disappointed.  However, has anyone else found a similar lack of balsamic in Strawberry Darling?  Please comment if you have; I’m curious.

7 Responses to “Alright, LaLoo’s, What’s Going On?”

  1. holly June 8, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Shai, we can get Laloo’s in a couple of places up here. Perhaps we will conduct a survey… 😉

  2. Monica June 9, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    Hi Shaina! So sorry to hear about your Laloo’s pint. It was definitely a fluke – our Strawberry Darling Flavor does still include the balsamic swirl, and this is the first time we’ve heard of a plain strawberry pint. As a test, I cut open a pint, just like you did. This is what the flavor usually looks like: http://www.flickr.com/photos/25365713@N06/?saved=1
    We’re so glad you’re a fan of Laloo’s, and bloggers such as yourself are great at spreading the word about our small company, which we appreciate! If you email me your address I’ll send you some free coupons so you can go get a better pint!

  3. Morgan Miller December 4, 2010 at 4:10 am #

    OMG!!! This icecream is sinfully delicious. I absolutely loooove the balsamic reduction swirl! I’ve eaten my first 3 pints so far in one week and they all had plenty of the balsamic reduction swirl in them. That’s weird you experienced this. Hopefully you still enjoyed the icecream, I’m sure it was still delicious. Still, it would be naked without the swirl.

    • Morgan Miller December 4, 2010 at 4:12 am #

      I meant to add that LaLoo’s mint chip(their version of it) is pretty damn good too. The chocolate and vanilla are good as well, but I am learning that LaLoo’s really shines when they add things to their icecream’s.

    • getinmebelly December 4, 2010 at 11:58 am #

      I actually did find that the absence of the balsamic was a freak occurrence. I absolutely love Laloo’s, and I think it’s a fabulous brand of ice cream. As a fan of all things goat milk, I really think Laloo’s is doing a great job.

  4. LSP FARM December 6, 2010 at 5:48 am #

    I’m gonna have to try some of that! I have a recipe to make some plain vanilla goat milk ice cream but have not tried it yet.

  5. King Sheets April 2, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    This is really attention-grabbing, You are an overly skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and sit up for in search of more of your excellent post. Additionally, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks

Leave a Reply

