Welcome Home, Madison!

13 Jun

When my sister was coming home from college, I wanted to surprise her with a favorite meal.  She loves duck, so I wanted to make a dinner centered aruond a duck entree.  She also likes carrot cake, so I made a unique twist on the classic carrot cake for dessert.

I wanted to try cooking the duck sous vide, but I love duck confit.  Hence, I decided to make the leg confit and the breast sous vide.  To make the confit work especially well, I tried making it in the Sous Vide Supreme.  I sealed the legs in a cryovac bag with a lot of olive oil and some bay leaves.  I left them in the machine at 165 degrees F for 7 hours, and then later I took them out and seared them until the skin was crispy when I was ready to plate them.  As for the duck breast, I skinned them and cooked them in the Sous Vide Supreme at 135 degrees F, just medium to medium-rare.  Both pieces were done just right, and the bay leaves permeated the dark meat of the confit legs just enought to make them herbal and delicious.

To go along with the duck, I made a lavender polenta “pudding,” and a salad of parsley, chives, and English peas.  I also made a stock with the two duck carcasses and reduced it to make a duck jus.  My family really enjoyed the duck, and I would definitely make it the same way again.

clockwise from bottom: polenta, duck, parsley salad, peach puree

The carrot cake was not so traditional, but it was delicious.  I glazed each layer with lime simple syrup.  The fillings were graham cracker puree, grapefruit cheesecake, and caramel-rum frosting.  I put all three fillings in between each layer of cake and frosted the whole thing with the frosting.

Welcome home.

5 Responses to “Welcome Home, Madison!”

  1. marilyn bogdanffy June 13, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    Your grandfather was such a lover of duck. He must be wafting the aroma and smiling in heaven.

    • getinmebelly June 15, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

      Aw. I wish he could have been there to eat it with us.

  2. Laura June 13, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

    The best meal I ever had…and I have not been a duck lover in the past. Now I am a duck convert! And who needs lettuce when you can have a salad of only fresh herbs? Fresh herbs really make a salad. And fresh peas, there isn’t anything better! The carrot cake was to die for! All I can say is mmmmmmmmmm!

  3. Carole June 16, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    Before you go back to school, will you PLEASE teach me to make confit!?!? its my fave!

    • getinmebelly June 16, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

      Of course!

Leave a Reply

