Ah, Spain.

15 Jun

Since leaving Spain a couple years ago after a vacation there, I had been dying to go back.  This summer, I decided to set up a summer internship working in Spanish kitchens.  My dad’s friend, Andre, imports wine from Spain and was able to set me up with a few internships in various kitchens in Galicia.  However, Andre stressed that I should visit the Basque Country sometimes during my trip.  Following his advice, I decided to go to Spain a week early to do some eating.

When I landed in Madrid, I was ready to go.  After checking into my hostel, I set out for lunch.  I wasn’t really sure where to go yet, so I hit up a casual place in Plaza Mayor for some lanogstinos a la plancha.  Later, after a siesta, I would do some more serious tapa-ing.  But at the time, the langostines were the perfect first meal in Spain.  They were fresh, they were sprinkled with coarse sea salt (something my mom and I loved about food in our last trip), and the langostine heads were full of succulent flavor.

Later at night, I took a friend’s advice and went to a small bar/restaurant, La Soberbia.  I had a pretty average glass of jerez before I swtiched to a red wine from Bilbao, which was excellent.  As for the amazing food, I went meat-style.  First, the waiter brought me a complimentary sandwich of sliced, cured sausage, which was awesome.  After that, I moved on to jamón iberico and some morcilla ahumada, slices of smoked blood pudding.  Both were delicious and just what I needed.

sausage+bread= : )

all my food!

Afterwards, I had a veal kebab and some wine at another tapas bar down the street, and then I hit the hay, figuring I would have to wake up early for the train to San Sebastian the next day.

Here in San Sebastian, I haven’t eaten much yet; I got here at about 2 PM and was still full from the tapas the night before.  I toured the historic quarter, and after seeing so many tapas bars with michelin ratings there, I plan to return for tapas tonight.

2 Responses to “Ah, Spain.”

  1. holly June 15, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

    Shaina, It sounds like you are off to a good start!

  2. Laura June 16, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    omg! I wish i was there!

Leave a Reply

