Back to America: An Ode to Beer, Cereal, and Fatass-ness

22 Jul

When I returned from my culinary dream-trip in Spain, I began to cook in my own kitchen again.  I didn’t really think about what I was making or why; rather, I cooked just to enjoy my home kitchen and make things I like.  I wasn’t really cooking Spanish food, aside from the grilled grouper with olive oil and salt I made last night.  But after a while, I realized that what I was making was mostly things with ingredients we didn’t use a lot in Spain–things I kind of missed.

Last night, after dinner, I made a cake.  It was not just any cake, though–it was funky.  I can’t really explain it better than giving an approximated recipe…

Beer Cake with Milk and White Chocolate and Cereal Brittle

  • Beat 3 egg whites with a pinch of salt to stiff, dry peaks.
  • Beat in about 2/3 to 3/4 c of sugar, gradually.  I know most recipes tell you to beat in the sugar when the whites are soft, but you know what?  I am just telling you what I did.  Drink a few glasses of wine, and you’ll add the sugar after the whites are already stiff, too.
  • Beat in 4 oz of butter and the 3 egg yolks.
  • Beat in 1 c flour and 1/8 t baking powder
  • Beat in some of the beer you’re drinking, about 3 oz.
  • Beat in another 2/3 c flour
  • Beat in about 5 oz of the beer
  • Hopefully this batter works out
  • Spread the batter out in an 8 inch cake pan and bake at 350 for about 30-40 minutes
  • Cool the cake when it comes out, and then remove from the pan, upside down.
  • When it’s cool, melt 3 oz each of white chocolate and dark chocolate, and spread decoratively over the top.
  • For the brittle, mix equal parts of Honey Bunches of Oats and Cinnabon cereal with a few tablespoons of Agave nectar.
  • Place them in the oven at 375 for about 8 minutes or until golden brown
  • When cool, break the brittle into pieces and place decoratively on top of the cake
  • Eat!

Beer Cake with two chocolates and cereal brittle

2 Responses to “Back to America: An Ode to Beer, Cereal, and Fatass-ness”

  1. Jeffrey Weiss July 24, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    Sometime in the future, BEFORE you down a bottle of wine, try the following with white chocolate:

    1. Heat oven to 120 C.
    2. Place white chocolate in an oven-proof container.
    3. Heat in oven for 40-60 min, stirring every 10 min or so.

    The chocolate will melt, get lumpy, and slowly turn golden and melty again as it caramelizes.

    This rocks…. 🙂

    • getinmebelly July 24, 2010 at 9:57 am #

      Yes! Caramelized white chocolate is fabulous–when I ate at Alinea in May, one dessert course (which I’m sure you’ve heard of) was the earl grey/lemon curd/rose dish with caramelized white chocolate noodles on top. It’s a great flavor.

Leave a Reply

