Bringin’ Galician Food on Home…A Spanish Feast

26 Jul

Dunk. Dunk. Dunk. Curly...

When I was in Spain, I knew my family would be full of questions about my trip when I got home.  Aunts and Uncles would want to know what I did there, cousins and grandparents would want to see pictures, and I had no doubt that my parents would want to try that food.  And what better a way to answer all those questions than by cooking for everyone?

What did you do there?

Try this!  This is what I did!

What did you eat and drink?

Try all this!  It’s almost exactly the same!

So, when I was away, I got on Facebook and invited all of my family over to my house in New Jersey for a Spanish dinner the week I would return.  Planning to showcase the style of food I cooked in Galicia, I devised my menu.  Inevitably, I would make an empanada and my favorite–octopus.  In addition, shrimp croquetas; lobster a la plancha; tomatoes and white asparagus; and salad graced the copper bar in our lounge the day of the dinner.

Galician Food

I served the octopus over potatoes with olive oil, salt, and sweet and hot pimentón.  Since I cut it when it wasn’t quite tender, I had to keep cooking it…and I put it back into the same water.  Although it took on a reddish color as a result, it was delicious!

I composed a salad inspired by the smells of the vineyards I would inhale when driving through them during my time in Meaño.  With halved green grapes and mint, the salad of red leaf lettuce was fragrant, and the sherry vinegar and olive oil amped up the flavors perfectly.  My empanada had scallops in one section, but I filled the rest with bacalao and raisins.  Although yesterday was my first time making an empanada without the expert advice of a Galician cook, it came out really well.  And my family admitted that croquetas are the ultimate addicting junk food!

Octopus

Lobster a la plancha, all hacked up for group eatin'

empanada!

Although we haven’t seen any tomatoes grow in our garden yet (epic fail), the Jersey tomatoes at Fairway were juicy and delicious with blanched white asparagus, onions, olive oil, and salt.

tomatoes, onion, and white asparagus

3 Responses to “Bringin’ Galician Food on Home…A Spanish Feast”

  1. holly July 26, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

    It was awesome!! I am still savoring, 24 hours later… !

  2. Encarna August 11, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    Hey Shaina¡¡ Fantastica comida… Mi madre quiere saber de que es la empanada. Dice que tiene un aspecto buenisimo. Le gusto a los invitados?

    • getinmebelly August 11, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

      Es de bacalao y uvas pasas por un lado y vieiras por el otro. Si todos le gustó!

Leave a Reply

