Coffee Break: Biscotti to Fuel my Dad’s Workplace

12 Aug

Even though my dad is a newb in his office, I know he must like his colleagues; he asked me to make a batch of biscotti for his office.  My dad is a big fan of the biscotti I make, but he usually only asks me to make biscotti for work when he wants to share with worthy compatriots.  So, when he asked me for a three dozen batch the other day, I was happy to make them, knowing that he must like his new office-mates.  This time, though, my dad let me choose the flavors.

Instead of sticking to the norm, I decided to send him in with some funky flavors to spice up coffee break culture.  I named the biscotti based on corporate office life:

  1. “The Home Stretch” biscotti, with energizing Chinese five spice powder and immune system-boosting Goji berries, should provide the right energy to bring the office workers to the weekend without too much stress.
  2. “The Hooky Cookie” biscotti screams Margaritaville: a biscotti flavored with lime zest and covered with chocolate and tortilla chip pieces, this cookie could put any employee in vacation mode.

    The Hooky Cookie!

  3. “The Smoke Break” biscotti, with smoked paprika and macadamia nuts, dipped in milk chocolate, has a subtler smoke than a smoke break.  But depending on what the consumer prefers to smoke, it could really hit the spot, if you know what I mean.

I hope these biscotti added a little spice to the work day for my dad’s office.  If you’re out there reading this, Dad, have a great day!

The base recipe (makes about 3 dozen):

4 c flour

1 T baking powder

1 c salted butter

1.5 c sugar

4 eggs

Preheat the oven to 350

Cream together the butter and sugar; add the eggs while beating.

Beat in the dry ingredients.

Divide the dough among three bowls and add ingredients according to the following specifications for each flavor.

Shape each 1/3 of the dough into logs about 3 inches wide and 1 inch high, a biscotti shape.

Bake for forty minutes.

Remove from oven and slice biscotti into 1/2 inch thick pieces.  Place biscotti back onto the cookie sheet and return to the oven for 15 minutes.

For the Hooky Cookie:

Add 1 T lime zest to 1/3 of the dough.  After baking the cookies and cooling, dip in dark chocolate and tortilla chips

For the Home Stretch:

Add 1 T Chinese five spice and 1/2 c Goji berries to 1/3 of the dough before baking

For the Smoke Break:

Add 3/4 t smoked paprika and 1/2 c chopped macadamia nuts to 1/3 of the dough before baking; dip in milk chocolate when cool.

Leave a Reply

