Wake and Bake: in the Truest Sense of the Term

9 Sep

The other night, I was so paranoid about finishing a bunch of work I hadn’t done that I set my alarm for 4:45 the next morning.  I would wake up, finish it, and go to class.

Well, when the next day rolled around and I rolled around in bed, not wanting to get up, I realized I could not even finish the assignments until getting some help.  But I couldn’t go back to sleep…so I made pumpkin cake!

Here’s the recipe–I hope it serves you well on a sleepless night or morning in the future:

pumpkin cake!

Early Bird’s Wake and Bake Cake

1.25 c sugar

2 eggs

4 oz butter, melted

1 c pumpkin puree

2 c flour

1/2 t salt

1.5 t baking powder

ginger

cinnamon

vanilla

  1. Beat the sugar and eggs until frothy in a medium bowl
  2. Beat in the butter and then the pumpkin
  3. Dump all dry ingredients on top and then whisk thoroughly.
  4. Add vanilla
  5. Bake at 350  for about 22 minutes in 8 inch cake pans
  6. Glaze with something–I made a rum glaze.
  7. ENJOY!
Leave a Reply

