It’s Everywhere: Even My Pie Crusts Get a Boost from Beer!

12 Mar

Recently, my mom and I were tasting our way through some different styles of beer from my beer cave.  We started with Dogfish Head’s Raison d’Extra.  Wha..?  Yeah.  We started with that dark, super-intense, liqueur-rivaling-in-booze-content ale brewed with raisins.  After a few sips, we decided to move on–not because it was bad, but because finishing it may not have left us in any shape to taste our next beers.  I would use it in cooking.

Really? You ask.  Yeah. I saved it to incorporate into some dish the next day.  Later on, I started wondering how substituting beer for water in a pie crust might turn out.  Bakers often add a tablespoon of vodka to their pie crusts to relax the gluten and make for a more tender pie crust.  Why would a high-alcohol beer work any differently?

After a short while, I had a Raison d’Extra ale pie crust.  It could have been my imagination, but working the crust seemed much easier than working a regular crust made with water.  After rolling it out and filling it with an apple filling, I shaped the crust into a cute little turnover.  Into the oven!   And about thirty five minutes later…

super flaky!

The crust was not only flavorful but also it seemed very flaky and tender.  From now on, I think I’ll be experimenting with booze in my pie crusts more often.

Apple Turnover With Beer Crust

Mix 6 oz flour with 1/2 t salt in a medium mixing bowl.  Cut in 4 oz butter, then pour 2 oz flat beer into the bowl.  Mix until dough comes together.  Shape into a disc and chill until ready to roll out.  Then, mix one sliced apple with 3 T sugar, 1/2 t ground ginger, and 1 t flour in a bowl.  Roll out crust into a circle and cover one side with sliced apple mixture.  Fold the bare crust side over the apples and twist the edges together to seal.  Brush with melted butter and sprinkle with sugar.  Cut vents in the top and bake at 375 for 35 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

